Detoxifying Salad

This time of year, I tend to get very ambitious. With spring just around the corner, I anticipate big changes and improvements in all areas of my life. In a way, this time of year for me is equivalent to many peoples’ New Years Eve; I identify weaknesses, set goals and establish guidelines for achieving these ambitions.

One area I (constantly) seek to improve is my health. Once the snow melts, I want to start running again (and hopefully stick with it longer than I usually do…). Additionally, I want to eat healthier. Since childhood, I’ve loved fruit and vegetables (to the amazement of my parents) and I tend to limit greasy, fatty food options. Still, there is always room to improve.

Recently, I made this salad which is a refreshing change from your standard lettuce-based dish. It’s base is actually brussel sprouts which I have NEVER eaten raw until now. Needless to say, they will become a more frequent item on my grocery lists.

Image

First, I cut up some brussel sprouts into tiny pieces. It wasn’t as tedious as you would think, but if you are comfortable using a food processor or mandolin to get it done faster, that works too.

Image

Next, I added in some cabbage (red and green) as well as some shredded carrot. Fortunately, I purchased pre-shredded vegetables from Whole Foods so that saved some time.

Image

I then added some sunflower seeds to the salad. Image

Next, I cut up a green apple and tossed that in for some sweetness and topped the whole thing with some lemon juice, salt and pepper. It has a simple, light taste which I like. Typically, I prefer “clean” tasting, rather than heavy, sauce-laded foods and this salad definitively did the trick!

Image

Added Bonus: I made enough for two servings which means lunch is covered for the rest of the week.

Leave a comment