Blueprint Project: Week Three

The weather has been unfortunately miserable with daily rain showers plaguing Toronto. In addition to putting a damper on everyone’s mood, poor weather conditions also makes training for a 10k rather difficult.  Regardless, I will still be participating in the Toronto Yonge St. 10k next weekend. Do you have any tips for a 10k first timer?  I took advantage of the sunny weather today and ran 6k this morning in High Park. To prepare further, I will do the following:

  • Limit alcohol consumption this week
  • Food swaps (substituting unhealthy foods with more nutritional alternatives)
  • Drink fewer soft drinks (I will be keeping a tally Monday-Sunday)
  • Try new foods
  • Stop skipping breakfast (This has always been a goal of mine; I did pretty well last week, but ended up skipping breakfast on Friday. This week I want to make sure I eat a healthy breakfast each morning)

Last week, I focused on stretching, upping my fruit intake, consuming more vitamins and minerals (especially calcium), creating new playlists and using my Nike+ Sportwatch more. In addition, i also had some great meals!

Image

Grilled Cheese: Goat cheese, avocado, kale and sundried tomatoes

Image

Veggie Plate: Steamed kale and broccoli topped with roasted matchstick carrots, red onion, zucchini, tomato and eggplant. Served with a Yves Veggie Burger- no bun and dipped in hot sauce.

Image

Scrambled Eggs: Two eggs scrambled with cherry tomatoes, basil and kale. Served with a Yves Canadian bacon slice.

How do you stay healthy?

What are your health and fitness tips?

3 thoughts on “Blueprint Project: Week Three

  1. Great goals for the week! I have a few healthy breakfast recipes on my blog if you want to give them a shot. I love baked oatmeal and I have two of my favorite varieties up (banana bread and apple pie). Good luck with your 10K, I have one on the 28th and I’m hoping our weather will turn around as well.

Leave a comment